Marvel celebrates 700th issue of ‘Fantastic Four’ with special variant cover

Marvel's 700th issue of Fantastic Four comic

Fantastic Four #7/#700 and #8’s new wraparound connecting variant cover by artist Scott Koblish brings together 700 different Marvel characters.

In celebration of the 700th issue of Fantastic Four comic, Marvel Comics has revealed the new wraparound cover by Scott Koblish which assembles 700 heroes, villains and other characters. 

Koblish said, “I’ve been a big fan of Fantastic Four since I was a little kid, so not only was it an honour to draw this cover, but it was a dream come true to scroll through every issue of Fantastic Four ever. I hope I was able to convey all of the sheer joy, wonder and boundless creativity that the Fantastic Four have embodied for six decades and I hope it continues to be a shining beacon for decades to come.”

Writer Ryan North, illustrator Iban Coello and cover artist Alex Ross are the creators of Fantastic Four #7. The official synopsis of the issue reads: Colossal Issue #700! Fantastic Four #7 is also Fantastic Four #700, which means we’re absolutely going huge. It’s an over-sized spectacular as the Fantastic Four reach their new home—not knowing that a mysterious threat has made it there first! As their knowledge of language itself begins to melt from their minds, the Four are in disarray as their existence hangs in the balance…and the greatest villain of all time finally seals their doom.

Fantastic Four #1 was created by Stan Lee, Jack Kirby and Art Simek and debuted in 1961. When a major event involving the negative zone and time travel in New York City forced the heroes to split from one another, North and Coello’s run on Marvel’s First Family began in 2022. Since then, the First Family has been slowly making their way back to one another.

More variants by Giuseppe Camuncoli, Greg Land, Rob Liefeld and Jack Kirby are included in Fantastic Four #7. The issue will be published by Marvel on 17 May 2023 and Fantastic Four #8 will be released in June 2023.

Marvel’s new era of ‘Fantastic Four’ comic series to debut in November, first cover revealed

The first cover for Marvel’s next Fantastic Four series, written by Ryan North and illustrated by Iban Coello, has been made public. The new Fantastic Four era begins with the series’ November premiere as Marvel’s founding family is dispersed across America after New York is destroyed. North and Coello would be telling stories focusing on each member before reuniting them at the end of the first story’s arc. Ben Grimm and Alicia Masters’ road trip is shown in the debut issue as it takes unexpected turns.

The official synopsis of Fantastic Four #1 reads: Something terrible has happened to the Fantastic Four and the Thing and Alicia are travelling across America to leave it behind! But when they stop in a small town for the night and wake up the morning before they arrived, they find themselves caught in a time loop that’s been going on since before they were born… That’s been going on since before they were born… That’s been going on since before they were born…

North said, “I want to do these smaller, self-contained stories in the vein of ’60s Star Trek where they go down to a planet, find a weird thing, fix the weird thing, and move on. Having these four weirdos roll into town where there’s a mystery or a problem or some sci-fi thing, solve the problem, and then move on struck me as a very interesting way to position the Fantastic Four and tell stories that would feel fresh and not like a retread of what we’ve seen before.”

Fantastic Four #1 will launch on 9 November.

Marvel to launch ‘Outlawed’ series in April

Marvel will be launching a new Outlawed series in April. After the release of Power Pack: Grow Up one-shot this past August, Power Pack: Outlawed launches from Marvel Comics. The series which reunites the classic team of Katie, Julie, Jack and Alex will be released as part of Marvel’s upcoming Outlawed event, which focuses on the House of Ideas’ teenage heroes.

The Outlawed story will spin off into three new series after it makes its April debut with Champions #1 is written by Eve L. Ewing with art by Simone Di Meo, cover by Toni Infante; New Warriors #1 is written by Daniel Kibblesmith with art by Luciano Vecchio, cover by R.B. Silva; and Power Pack#1 is written by Ryan North with art by Nico Leon and cover by Ryan Stegman.

Both Power Pack and New Warriors are five-part miniseries resurrecting concepts from the 1980s. Talking to Screen Rant, Ewing said, “[Editor] Alanna Smith came to me with this story idea last summer. I was so into it and we were just talking about it as a cool series that I would do. But after I started working on the pitch, it became clear that there was interest from other creative teams in picking up the story, and that was humbling and cool.”

Marvel will be releasing all the three series in April.

Exit mobile version